University of East Anglia

Tweet this page
Registration as it was on 24 Jan 2023
How to read and use this data card.
Download this datacard


Since 20 September 2021 self-declared 'non-commercial organisations' are no longer required to provide a lobby budget. See above timeline for this registrant's historical lobby budget.

Lobbying Costs

None declared

Financial year: Aug 2021 - Jul 2022

Lobbyists (Full time equivalent)

0.8 Fte (8)

Lobbyists with EP accreditation


High-level Commission meetings


Lobbying Costs over the years

  • Info

    University of East Anglia   (UEA)

    EU Transparency Register

    640246320926-25 First registered on 04 Mar 2016

    Goals / Remit

    Established in 1963, the University of East Anglia comprises four Faculties (Science, Medicine & Health Sciences, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities), and 19 Schools of study. It has around 17,000 students of which 4,000 are postgraduate students.

    UEA was ranked in the top 30 of UK universities in the Times/Sunday Times Good University Guide 2023, the Guardian Good University Guide 2023 and the Complete University Guide 2023.

    UEA was named a world top 50 university in the Times Higher Education Impact Rankings 2022, and in the World's Top 200 Universities in the Times Higher Education World University Ranking 2022.

    Over the last 50 years, UEA has prided itself on its interdisciplinary ethos and its ability to shape new disciplines that respond to the grand challenges facing the world. It has led the way in shaping disciplines such as environmental sciences, international development studies and creative writing.

    Main EU files targeted

    Research and Innovation - EU Horizon research framework programme activity
    Research interests across the full breadth core activities - particularly environmental/climate change, food & health, energy/low carbon, economic/business and family policy


    Head Office
    Norwich Research Park Earlham Road
    Norwich NR4 7TJ
    EU Office
    Norwich Research Park Earlham Road
    Norwich NR4 7TJ


  • People

    Total lobbyists declared


    Employment timeLobbyists

    Lobbyists (Full time equivalent)


    Lobbyists with EP accreditation

    No lobbyists with EP accreditations

    Complementary Information

    The eight are the Vice-Chancellor, the Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research & Innovation), the Associate Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research), the Chief Resource Officer & University Secretary, the Director of the Research & Innovation Division, the Head of Research Services, the Head of Business Partnerships and the European Funding Manager.

    All of the above will spend less than 5% of their time on such activities.

    In addition, a small number of academics will share relevant research findings.

    Person in charge of EU relations

    Data not provided by Register Secretariat due to GDPR

    Person with legal responsibility

    Data not provided by Register Secretariat due to GDPR

  • Categories


    Academic institutions

  • Networking


    Association of Research Managers and Administrators UK (ARMA UK)
    ARMA is the UK's professional association for research managers and administrators facilitating excellence in research by identifying and establishing best practice in research management and administration.

    Praxisauril is the UK's not-for-profit association for university and public sector knowledge exchange and commercialisation professionals.

    UK Research Office (UKRO)
    The UK Research Office is the European office of its sponsoring organisation - UK Research & Innovation (UKRI) - and subscribing institutions (in the main UK HEIs). UKRO's mission is to maximise UK engagement in EU-funded research, innovation and higher education activities.

    AURORA, a network of ten like-minded European universities that share a mission to advance social good, and are united by a commitment to build a different kind of inclusive university community that fits a more networked generation, that strives to help solve global challenges (in areas such as sustainability, climate and energy, digital technology and human life and health) and which provides collaborative space for members to learn from each other. The ten universities in the network - the University Federico II of Naples, Universitat Rovira I Virgili, Université Grenoble-Alpes, the University of Aberdeen, Universitat Innsbruck, the University of Duisburg-Essen, the University of East Anglia, the University of Iceland, Vrije Universiteit in Amsterdam and Université Paris-Est Créteil - believe there is no trade-off between research excellence by global standards, broad access for students and an inclusive academic environment and societal impact in research, teaching and outreach. They all strive to combine these elements in the fibres of the university organisation and culture.

    The CBI represents around 190,000 businesses and organisations. Together they employ nearly 7 million people, about one-third of the private sector-employed workforce in the UK.

    Member organisations

    None declared

  • Financial Data

    Interests represented

    Does not represent commercial interests

    Closed financial year

    Aug 2021 - Jul 2022

    Lobbying costs for closed financial year

    Since 20 September 2021 self-declared 'non-commercial organisations' are no longer required to provide a lobby budget. See above timeline for this registrant's historical lobby budget.

    Total organisational budget in closed year


    Major funding types in closed year

    EU funding, Public financing, Donations, Grants, Other

    Major contributions in closed year

    Contribution Tuition fees and education contracts 198,073,557€
    Contribution Funding body grant (Office for Students (OfS), UK Research & Innovation (UKRI)) 48,616,250€
    Contribution Other income 65,516,438€
    Contribution Research grants and contracts 62,677,093€
    Grant European Commission Research & Innovation Framework Programme and other competitive EU Funding Calls 4,341,000€

    Other financial info

    None declared

  • EU Structures

    Groups (European Commission)


    Groups (European Parliament)


    Other activities

    None declared

  • Meetings


    None declared

Download this datacard