Democratic Society

Tweet this page
No longer registered as of 27 Oct 2023 - Registration as it was on 26 Oct 2022
How to read and use this data card.
Download this datacard


Since 20 September 2021 self-declared 'non-commercial organisations' are no longer required to provide a lobby budget. See above timeline for this registrant's historical lobby budget.

Lobbying Costs

None declared

Financial year: Jan 2021 - Dec 2021

Lobbyists (Full time equivalent)

7.75 Fte (9)

Lobbyists with EP accreditation


High-level Commission meetings


Lobbying Costs over the years

  • Info

    Democratic Society   (Demsoc)

    EU Transparency Register

    413896028403-86 First registered on 20 Sep 2017

    Goals / Remit

    The Democratic Society works for more and better democracy, where people and institutions have the desire, opportunity and confidence to participate together. We work to create opportunities for people to become involved in the decisions that affect their lives and for them to have the skills to do this effectively. We support governments, parliaments and any organisation that wants to involve citizens in decision making to be transparent, open and welcoming of participation. We actively support spaces, places and processes to make this happen.

    Main EU files targeted

    European Citizens Initiative, Open Government, Democratic promotion and citizenship, European elections, democracy transparency, efficient administration, Conference on the Future of Europe.


    Head Office
    Cantersteen 10
    Bruxelles 1000
    EU Office
    Cantersteen 10
    Bruxelles 1000


  • People

    Total lobbyists declared


    Employment timeLobbyists

    Lobbyists (Full time equivalent)


    Lobbyists with EP accreditation

    All Lobbyists with EP accreditation over time

    0 accreditations were / are live (in bold) for the selected state of 28 May 2024

    Name Start date End Date
    Ms Sahajanya BALAGANESH 18 Feb 2023 10 Nov 2023
    Mr Anthony ZACHARZEWSKI 10 Nov 2022 10 Nov 2023
    Mr Ward DEN DOOVEN 02 Apr 2022 01 Apr 2023
    Ms Sarah VANQUAETHEM 13 Oct 2021 13 Oct 2022
    Ms Laura GALANTE 28 Sep 2021 28 Sep 2022
    Ms Sahajanya BALAGANESH 28 Sep 2021 28 Sep 2022
    Ms Marian CRAMERS 28 Sep 2021 28 Sep 2022
    Mr Anthony ZACHARZEWSKI 28 Sep 2021 28 Sep 2022
    Ms Maison SATGUINE 27 Mar 2019 05 Mar 2020
    Mr Anthony ZACHARZEWSKI 26 Mar 2019 26 Mar 2020
    Ms Namita KAMBLI 23 Mar 2019 01 Apr 2020
    Ms Marian CRAMERS 19 Feb 2019 19 Feb 2020
    Mr Anthony ZACHARZEWSKI 09 Feb 2018 06 Feb 2019
    Ms Cyndee MITCHELL 09 Feb 2018 06 Feb 2019
    Ms Kelly MCBRIDE 09 Feb 2018 06 Feb 2019

    Complementary Information

    We are structured as an AISBL, recently established in Belgium after originally starting up in the UK.

    Person in charge of EU relations

    Data not provided by Register Secretariat due to GDPR

    Person with legal responsibility

    Data not provided by Register Secretariat due to GDPR

  • Categories


    Non-governmental organisations, platforms and networks and similar

  • Networking



    Member organisations


  • Financial Data

    Interests represented

    Does not represent commercial interests

    Closed financial year

    Jan 2021 - Dec 2021

    Lobbying costs for closed financial year

    Since 20 September 2021 self-declared 'non-commercial organisations' are no longer required to provide a lobby budget. See above timeline for this registrant's historical lobby budget.

    Total organisational budget in closed year


    Major funding types in closed year

    EU funding, Other, Grants

    Funding types "other" information

    Major contributions in closed year

    Contribution Laudes Foundation 147,232€
    Contribution LIFE programme 160,675€
    Contribution Viable Cities 47,000€
    Contribution Climate KIC 476,000€
    Contribution Scottish Government 63,000€
    Contribution City of Vienna 54,167€
    Contribution European Cultural Foundation 40,000€
    Contribution City of Leuven 50,000€
    Contribution Engage Britain Foundation 287,000€
    Contribution Open Society Foundations 70,000€
    Contribution Demotec 304,000€
    Contribution Renew Europe Group 200,000€

    Other financial info

    None declared

  • EU Structures

    Groups (European Commission)


    Groups (European Parliament)


    Communication activities

    We have undertaken reports, research and consultancy on all aspects of democracy, open government and governance reform. Events with citizens and specialists support our work, and we publish regularly as well as running our website and social media feeds.

    We are also part of consortiums and frameworks to deliver open government, democracy and citizen engagement projects.

    We are in receipt of Horizon 2020 funding for two projects, and are working or have worked with the Commission on the Horizon Europe missions and other areas of democratic engagement.

    Other activities

    None declared

  • Meetings


    3 meetings found. Download meetings

    The list below only covers meetings held since November 2014 with commissioners, their cabinet members or directors-general at the European Commission; other lobby meetings with lower-level staff may have taken place, but the European Commission doesn't proactively publish information about these meetings. For more information about which commissioner is responsible for which portfolio, check out this link: All information below comes from European Commission web pages.

    • Date 30 Jul 2020 Location Brussels - Belgium
      Subject Brainstorming Session on "The State of the Union in 2020: Society and Democracy" - [Via Webex]
      Cabinet Cabinet of President Ursula von der Leyen
      Portfolio President
      • Anthony Whelan (Cabinet member)
      • Olivier Smith (Cabinet member)
      • Bjoern Seibert (Cabinet member)
      • Maria Luisa Cabral (Cabinet member)
      • Valeria Miceli (Cabinet member)
      • Fernando Sampedro Marcos (Cabinet member)
      • Per Haugaard (Cabinet member)
      • Sonia Vila Nunez (Cabinet member)
      • Mary Veronica Tovsak Pleterski (Cabinet member)
      • Nicole Dewandre (Cabinet member)
      • Charmaine Hili (Cabinet member)
      Other Lobbyists
    • Date 14 Feb 2020 Location Brussels
      Subject Conference on the Future of Europe
      Cabinet Cabinet of Vice-President Dubravka Šuica
      Portfolio Democracy and Demography
      • Mattia De Grassi (Cabinet member)
    • Date 22 Jan 2018 Location Brussels
      Subject eGovernment
      Cabinet Cabinet of Vice-President Andrus Ansip
      Portfolio Digital Single Market
      • Maximilian Strotmann (Cabinet member)
Download this datacard